Content Version Numbers are used to differentiate Policies/Courses/Phish with identical names, and are generated via several actions on the platform:
1. Publishing Content
Publishing an initial piece of content will result in a 1.0 version number being generated:
2. Saving Content
If content has initially been saved, it will generate a 0.1 version number.
If content has been saved initially, and then published, it will then generate a 1.1 version number.
3. Creating New Content (from a live or archived piece of content)
If content has been created as a new version, it will generate a new version number. For example, if the previous version number is 1.0, then the number for the new version will be 2.0
For further information please see the link below:
Where Can I View Content Version Numbers?